Czech Republic officially closes borders for Russian tourists

Czech Republic officially closed borders for Russian tourists

Measures to close borders for Russians were approved by the Czech government on the proposal Minister of Foreign Affairs of the country Jan Lipavsky. The minister said earlier this month that the entry ban would apply to all Russian citizens holding a valid Schengen visa, regardless of the issuing country.

This means that the Czech Republic will not only deny entry to Russians holding a Schengen visa. a visa issued by the Czech authorities, but also to those to whom a visa has been issued by any other member state of the European Union. In addition, the minister explained that, in addition to tourists, the entry ban will also apply to those who wish to enter the country for sports or cultural purposes.

In addition to the Czech Republic, a number of other EU countries have also completely closed their borders for citizens of Russia. These are Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland. Commenting on these measures, the foreign ministers of the Baltic States and Poland said earlier in September that the decision to impose an entry ban was taken on the general grounds of protecting internal security, public policy and the general security of the Schengen area.

On the other hand , Belgium, the Netherlands, Denmark and Slovakia have only suspended the issuance of Schengen visas for Russians, that is, some categories of travelers are allowed to enter these countries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *